Trump administration plans to add 7 more countries to travel ban, including Nigeria

Trump says he plans to add countries to his existing travel ban.


The Trump administration is expected to expand its controversial travel ban to include seven more countries.


This week, President Donald Trump said in an interview with the Journal that he was planning on adding more countries to the travel ban.


US media reported that Belarus, Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Myanmar, Nigeria, Sudan and Tanzania are the new additions to the ban.


“You see what’s going on in the world, our country has to be safe,” Trump told reporters at the World Economic Forum in Davos on Wednesday.


The current ban, which has been in place since September 2017, restricts citizens of Iran, Libya, North Korea, Somalia, Syria and Yemen from applying to certain visas.


After a couple of failed attempts to implement the law, a third version of the policy was upheld by a divided Supreme Court in June 2018.


Back in January 2017 when the original travel ban, dubbed the “Muslim ban” by the media, took effect, those who held US green cards and dual US citizenship were held for questioning for many hours at airports across the country, with some denied entry.


This sparked widespread protests throughout the US.


The new travel ban is expected to be announced on Monday.